Cycling: Tadej Pogačar Wins Tour of Slovenia (Video)

By , 19 Jun 2022, 16:13 PM Sport
Cycling: Tadej Pogačar Wins Tour of Slovenia (Video) YouTube

Share this:

STA, 19 June 2022 - Slovenia's star rider Tadej Pogačar (UAE Team Emirates) has won the 28th Tour of Slovenia to defend the champion title from last year. He won the last stage on Sunday between Vrhnika, central Slovenia, and Novo Mesto, SE, after crossing the finish line together with compatriot Matej Mohorič (Bahrain-Victorious).

Pogačar, 23, a two-time Tour of France winner, finished the race three seconds ahead of Pole and his teammate Rafal Majka on aggregate.

His second Tour of Slovenia victory makes him one of the five racers that have won the Slovenian road race more than once - Italian Diego Ulissi (2011, 2019) as well as Slovenians Primož Roglič (2015, 2018), Jure Golčer (2006, 2008) and Mitja Mahorič (2003, 2004).

After managing all the pitfalls on the 155.7km route to the traditional finish in the city of Novo Mesto, including Trška Gora hill (2km/9%), he was also the best in the finishing sprint alongside Mohorič and Majka. Both Slovenians sprinted hard, but Pogačar was stronger and put on a green jersey.

Winners of Tour of Slovenia

1993  Boris Premužič (Slo)
1994  Tobias Steinhauser (Ger)
1995  Valter Bonča (Slo)
1996  Lorenzo di Silverstro (Ita)
1997  /
1998  Branko Filip (Slo)
1999  Tim Jones (Zim)
2000  Martin Derganc (Slo)
2001  Faat Zakirov (Rus)
2002  Evgeni Petrov (Rus)
2003  Mitja Mahorič (Slo)
2004  Mitja Mahorič (Slo)
2005  Przemyslav Niemiec (Pol)
2006  Jure Golčer (Slo)
2007  Tomaž Nose (Slo)
2008  Jure Golčer (Slo
2009  Jakob Fuglsang (Den)
2010  Vincenzo Nibali (Ita)
2011  Diego Ulissi (Ita)
2012  Jani Brajkovič (Slo)
2013  Radoslav Rogina (Cro)
2014  Tiago Machado (Por)
2015  Primož Roglič (Slo)
2016  Rein Taaramäe (Est)
2017  Rafal Majka (Pol)
2018  Primož Roglič (Slo)
2019  Diego Ulissi (Ita)
2020  /
2021  Tadej Pogačar (Slo)
2022  Tadej Pogačar (Slo)

- several-time winners:
- 2 victories:
Diego Ulissi (Ita), Primož Roglič, Jure Golčer, Mitja Mahorič,
Tadej Pogačar (Slo).

Photo galleries and videos

This websie uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.